HEAD TO HEAD

    Runway vs Sora

    Compare Runway and Sora side by side: pricing, compliance (SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA), access methods, and how each one handles your data.

    RunwaySora

    // Pricing▲ differ

    RunwayFreemium
    SoraPaid

    // Free Tier▲ differ

    Runway125 credits/month on free plan
    Soran/a

    // Paid Plans▲ differ

    RunwayStandard $15/mo, Pro $35/mo, Unlimited $95/mo
    SoraIncluded with ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo) and Pro ($200/mo)

    // API Cost

    Runwayn/a
    Soran/a

    // Access▲ differ

    RunwayWeb App · API
    SoraWeb App

    // SOC 2▲ differ

    Runway Yes
    Soran/a

    // ISO 27001

    Runwayn/a
    Soran/a

    // GDPR

    Runway Yes
    Sora Yes

    // HIPAA

    Runwayn/a
    Soran/a

    // Data Region▲ differ

    RunwayNot publicly specified. The Data Security page references multi-datacenter hosting but does not name specific regions; no self-serve data-residency selection is documented on the vendor's own domain.
    SoraNot specified for Sora specifically on vendor pages found; OpenAI's general Data Processing Addendum references Standard Contractual Clauses / UK GDPR / Swiss DPA mechanisms for international transfers, implying no dedicated EU-only region guarantee for this product.

    // Trains on Data

    RunwayYes
    SoraYes

    // Self-hostable

    RunwayNo
    SoraNo

    // Category

    RunwayVideo
    SoraVideo

    // Subcategory

    RunwayVideo Generation
    SoraVideo Generation
    > Add another tool to this comparison →

    // FAQ

    What is the difference between Runway and Sora?

    Runway is Freemium (Video · Video Generation); Sora is Paid (Video · Video Generation). This page compares their pricing, compliance, access methods, and data handling side by side.

    Is Runway or Sora free?

    Runway offers a free or freemium tier, while Sora is paid.

    > Browse all Video tools →